The Few, the Brave, the Friends

I’ve been looking for friends on Facebook. Facebook doesn’t like this, so they’ve shut down my search function for an indeterminate period of time. They warned me as soon as I did my first search that I was gonna get blocked for too much searching. Then shortly thereafter they held good to their word.When you’ve had as few friends as I have, searching for them is no easy thing. I looked for or invited all the ones in my current email account and sent invites to a few in a quite old account – ones that I had reason to believe still have the same address. It’s the ones in the middle – the ones in my Outlook contacts – that I can’t access because they are on an external drive since my other computer crashed.

When I see these people on Facebook with 400 friends, I have to wonder where they got them. I realise that part of the problem is that most of the people Facebooking are much younger – seems they are all in the class of ’10 or ’11 at some high school or maybe college. So a lot of people in my past simply haven’t gotten into the social networking thing. But then who am I to talk? I only started a little over a month ago.

I realise that even if all my friends past and present suddenly got Facebook accounts, I still wouldn’t have 400 friends. I’ve never been a social butterfly nor a particularly popular person to have around. I tend to only be shy in the making of friends. Otherwise, I have been known to impose myself on others with an almost Asperger-like disregard for the non-verbal feedback. The difference is that I can read the signals that say, “I honestly couldn’t care less” or “Please go away” – I just have trouble graciously extricating myself.

So I’m thankful for the forebearing friends I do have.  I just wish more of them were on Facebook.

3 Responses to “The Few, the Brave, the Friends”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    Sol,
    I am on MySpace but I I must admit that I hate the system on Facebook where you have to register and give them your details before they will let you do anything.

    What a strange system Facebook has……..
    MySpace is much more simple 🙂

    BTW, if you want searches done, let me know as DD2 is a fully signed up member and seems to have no problems doing searches.

  2. John of Indiana Says:

    Sol, I think these people are what’s called “Friend Collectors”. I see people on MySpace that have over 1,500 friends. Now, in cases like the Burger King or Sammy Terry (a Hoosier Icon) I can understand, but a 19-y-o college freshman from from Dubuque who’s number of friends is proportional to the number of bikini photos in her album?

    Glad you tracked me down on facebook before they shut your search feature off.

  3. sol Says:

    It appears that I may now gingerly use the Facebook search feature with trepidation.

    John, actually I found you in my Yahoo email account address book. It the ones for whom I’ve lost all email addresses or never had one that I have trouble finding.


Leave a Reply

