It’s Not All Bad

They say if you can’t say anything nice, you shouldn’t say anything at all. This is clearly a policy to which I rarely adhere, as my wife if often keen to point out. About no topic is this more true than the National Health Service.

As I recently noted in a comment to another post, I have had good orthopedic (or orthopaedic, depending on where you are reading this) care. I know that when it comes to this specialty (or speciality, again depending on where you are) I am winner in the postcode lottery, but there you go. To that I would have to add emergency care.

This afternoon I tripped in the kitchen and didn’t have the sleeve of my prosthesis pulled up. As I fell forward, I left it behind. All 14 stone came down on my stump. (Yes, 14 stone – I ate, as they say in this country, all the pies.) I almost passed out from the pain.

My wife called an ambulance. They arrived very promptly and provided very good care in getting me to hospital. I don’t think this was affected by me telling them that not only had I formerly been an ambulance driver (as a volunteer during my college days) , but also a lawyer.

Once in the A&E (as they call the ER here), they put some ice on it to keep the swelling down and gave me some pain medicine. After time for both to work, I was wheeled into X-ray and within minutes I was looking at the pictures on a computer screen with the advantage of digital zoom. There appears to be no fracture.

I was home within two hours of the incident. Even though the bone appears to be intact, I can’t take any weight or even pressure on it. Hopefully I will be able to walk by Monday.

5 Responses to “It’s Not All Bad”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    That sounds horrendously painful, Sol.
    Prayers for a speedy recovery.

    BTW, I’m impressed with your local A&E if you were “processed” in two hours ! I wish ours was anywhere near that efficient……

  2. sol Says:

    It’s much better this morning, though I haven’t tried to put on the leg.

    We’ve waited in reception at the A&E for longer. Coming in on a gurney helped speed the process, no doubt. But overall, there pretty quick here. Of course when i comes to the NHS, YMMV.

  3. Hobbling « Solomon Hezekiah Says:

    […] February 4, 2008 — sol Well, I tried walking today. I was in bad enough shape that my wife wanted me to stay home, and she never wants me to stay hom. […]

  4. John of Indiana Says:

    Ouch!
    Hope you mend soon, Sol.

  5. Beckye E. Says:

    So sorry to hear of your fall and injury! Hope the swelling and pain subside quickly. Very grateful there wasn’t anything broken! Hope you feel better soon, and that your wife can get a break! 😀 You’ll be in our prayers!


Leave a Reply

