Reading the Rest of the Bible

I had almost given up hope of seeing the full Orthodox Study Bible. I had almost forgotten about it until I was over at Energetic Procession and it was mentioned in the comments of a post about Deacon Michael Hyatt, the CEO of Thomas Nelson Publishers.

Reading Fr Pat Reardon’s article on Susannah on the Conciliar Press OSB site reminded me once again of how much of the Bible I haven’t read. When students ask me whether I’ve read the Bible all the way through (as if this is some sort of insurmountable challenge in the face of the ultimate boredom), I always tell them that I have. (The only time was from March 20 to November 29 of either 1976 or 1977.) I don’t tell them I’ve read a bad paraphrase (the Living Bible)  with an Old Testament eleven books short of the Scriptures used by Jesus and the Apostles.

I have so much catching up to do.

5 Responses to “Reading the Rest of the Bible”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    I haven’t read it all yet, either 🙂

  2. Michael Says:

    So, the question is, have you read the other 11 books? I’ve read most of them, even as a dastardly Protestant, and especially enjoyed II Esdras. & have read the entire Protestant canon a few times.

  3. sol Says:

    I’ve read bits and bobs. I read a bit of I Esdras last night in the Third Millennium Bible. Prompted by reading Fr Pat’s article I also read the story of Susannah, though I could only find in the Douay-Rheims (on BibleGateway.com) at the end of Daniel rather than at the beginning.

    And I would never call you dastardly, Protestant or not.

  4. Michael Says:

    Either that’s very gracious of you, or you just don’t know me well enough. But, thanks.

  5. debd Says:

    A Caltholic convert friend of mine calls the Jerusalem and/or Douay-Rheims Bible the “unabridged Version”. LOL.

    I recently read the Book of Tobit and discovered in there the story of a widow that had 7 husbands who had all died before the marriage could be consummated. The Archangel Raphael came to her aid (it is the only place in the Bible the Archangel Raphael appears). I definitely get the feeling I’ve been jipped by only reading the Abridged version of the Bible.


Leave a Reply

