And One More Makes Forty-Four

As I start a new year today, I have discovered that 44 is a happy number. This is not astrological or anything. Rather it is a mathematical designation. You replace the number by the sum of the squares of its digits, and repeat the process until the number equals 1 or loops endlessly in a cycle which does not include 1. Numbers that result in 1 are happy numbers. It happens to work out that all of the numbers in a happy number calculation sequence are also happy.

42 + 42 = 32
32 + 22 = 13
12 + 32 = 10
12 + 02 = 1

We have yet to see if 44 will be a happy year. I suppose it could go either way.

I know that my life isn’t what I thought it would have been when I turned 22. That was at least two careers ago. I thought I had a promising future in politics. By the end of 22 that was really washed up. When I’m 88, I wonder how I will look back on 44.

4 Responses to “And One More Makes Forty-Four”

  1. Michael Says:

    Not sure I grasped all that offhand, but it looks happy. I’ll reach that happy age in a little over a year.

    Unrelated to this topic, but related to the recent Apocrypha discussion, I thought you might appreciate these links about the two Septuagint translations that have just come out.

    http://paleojudaica.blogspot.com/2008_03_09_archive.html#6069541520156660646

    http://philoblogger.blogspot.com/2008/03/n-e-t-s-is-available.html

    http://www.bombaxo.com/blog/?p=512

  2. debd Says:

    Happy Birthday and many years. I wonder when the next happy number comes up?

  3. sol Says:

    Thanks for your kind wishes.

    The next happy number is 49.

    Thanks for the links, Michael. The review of the OSB was enlightening, especially as I’m getting the OSB for my birthday. Sounds like it’s good I’m getting the hardback edition. I may get a copy of the NETS when I get a chance.

  4. Mary Says:

    Happy Birthday, Sol. Many more happy years for you, I pray. Love to you and yours. Mare


Leave a Reply

