Catching Up and Starting Over

Today is my grandmother’s 114th birthday. It is also the anniversary (31st or 32nd – I can’t be sure) of the first time I began reading the Bible cover to cover. Today I’m going to start again.

I got my Orthodox Study Bible today on the way home from work. A friend picked it up at Church for me on Sunday and we made the exchange at the petrol garage in the town through which we both travel on our way to our respective schools. Despite having been briefed ahead of time as to it’s shortcomings (with thanks to Michael) I am looking forward to reading all of the Bible for the first time.

It will take some time to get used to the differences. It’s not just that I’ve not read all the books excised by Luther or the bits edited out of others. I didn’t realise until today that in the Septuagint, Job comes after the Psalms and the major prophets come after the minor ones. Not that it really matters . It’s not like Job is where it is in Protestant Bibles for a particular reason. The only thing that makes prophets “major” or “minor” in popular nomenclature is the length of their writings. There’s no reason they have to be in a particular order. Neither collection is based on chronology, nor do they need to be. The only important chronological fact is that they come before the Incarnation.

While I intend to do the Genesis to Revelation thing, I am also going to catch up on what I’ve missed in the meantime.

One Response to “Catching Up and Starting Over”

  1. Michael Says:

    Sounds like the beginning of a great time of blessing as you read. I intend eventually to have copies of both the OSB & NETS, partly as the Septuagint will be a key part of the research into post-exilic Judaism I hope to do in the next few years. But for now I’ll need to be content with my old Brenton Greek-English edition, flawed as it is.

    For the record, Luther didn’t excise any books from the OT, though he did sequester the Apocrypha into a separate section (he messed with the NT as well, in ways that other LUtherans don’t follow). It was others who actually dropped the books from the volume, & in fact Luther sometimes preached from Sirach & the Lutheran Confessions include a brief quote from II Maccabees.


Leave a Reply

