Christ is Risen!

I may be one of the first in the Ortho-blogosphere to say it, being on the eastern side of the Atlantic and missing the Vigil. Everyone else will just be transitioning from Matins to Liturgy about now.

I wanted to go tonight, but I was afraid I would fall asleep at the wheel on the way, not to mention on the way back. With the Unnamed Woman needing to stay home with the Unnamed Children, I would be on my own. After pulling an all-nighter marking pupil folders on Thursday/Friday, I still have not fully recovered. I’m not sure and hour and a half starting at 3:00 am on a winding two-lane A-road already known for fatal accidents is a place to be.

But I’m sure if I wanted to go bad enough, I would have made it happen. I suppose I could have pulled off the road if necessary.

Lent has been a washout, really. My usual lack of fasting after the first week and spiritual uselessness. I had the chance to attend Liturgy twice locally and managed to oversleep both times. The only significant reading I’ve done, other than in my new Orthodox Study Bible, is a book on St Columba.

But Christ is Risen. Whether or not I’m a spiritual washout, Christ is Risen.

Christ is Risen, and life reigns.

11 Responses to “Christ is Risen!”

  1. irishanglican Says:

    Amen! Say how do ya like that new Orthodox Study Bible? With the Septuagint for the basis of the OT? And I also listened to the 15th Antiphon with Father Soraphim Dedes singing…most beautiful! It brought me closer to Christ our Redeemer…”The Son of the Virgin is pierced with a spear. We venerate Thy Passion, O Christ. Show us also Thy glorious Resurrection.”

    Fr. Robert (Anglican)

  2. sol Says:

    I have enjoyed the OSB. Being Orthodox, I like having a translation from the official text recognised by the Church. I also enjoy the bits of the Bible I’ve never read before. I have especially enjoy the Wisdom of Sirach.

    About a month ago, I wrote about getting used to difference in the order of the books and the order of the text within some of the books.

  3. irishanglican Says:

    Thanks for your thoughts on “getting used”..etc. I have myself an Greek/English version of the Septuagint. I am planning on getting the OSB version (whole Bible). Indeed the Wisdom books are profound! Closer to the Wisdom time and thoughts of our Lord I believe.

  4. sol Says:

    Growing up evangelical Protestant, I just accepted that there was a 400 year silence from the end of the OT until the events of the Gospels. The late wisdom books and the Maccabees, and recognising the inspiration of the LXX Alexandrian redactors and translators, indicate the God was talking right up His Incarnation. It wasn’t long before the Wisdom of Jesus, son of Sirach, became personified in the wisdom of Jesus, son of God.

  5. Mary Says:

    For what I am doing, I do not understand. For what I will to do, that I do not practice; but what I hate, that I do.

    rom 7:15For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find.

    Rom 7:19 For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice.
    Rom 7:20 Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.
    Rom 7:21 I find then a law, that evil is present with me, the one who wills to do good.
    Rom 7:22 For I delight in the law of God according to the inward man.
    Rom 7:23 But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.
    Rom 7:24 O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?

    Jesus Christ our LORD and HE IS RISEN! ALLELUJAH!!l

  6. irishanglican Says:

    I have never figured out why God would be silent between the Testaments? I mean He had chosen Israel, and though they had failed God, He certainly had never failed them! With the Wisdom books we can almost hear the footsteps of God as He draws nearer, as the Incarnation was always in His heart! And yet God respects and made our ability to choose…thus He teaches us in wisdom to know and trust, and often this takes time. How patient is our God! Full of wisdom and glory! Wonderful thought, that Jesus our Christ is Wisdom personified!

  7. irishanglican Says:

    I was raised RC being Irish. And I even spent some time as a Roman Benedictine monk (several years really)…when I was younger. After I was a Royal Marine. But I was not settled in it? Later, after leaving I had an evangelical conversion, then I began to understand better why I was there even then. God was drawing me even then to His grace and glory…then something of 2 Cor. 4: 6 happened, the interior face of Christ and His glory came ever more. It was only more of the same desire and search. I still in the new nature, desire Him, ever more! Oh to see HIM!

  8. irishanglican Says:

    By the way, I agree with ya on the so-called silence of God. It does not make theological nor biblical sense. God may be quiet, but never silent! He that has ears to hear, let him hear!

  9. Elizabeth Says:

    He is risen indeed ! Alleluia !

    My prayers and best wishes to you and your family as we celebrate Great and Holy Pascha.
    We didn’t get to Vigil/matins/Liturgy either; we are going to Vespers this afternoon.

  10. irishanglican Says:

    “Knowing that Christ, having been raised from the dead, is never to die again; death no longer is master (control or domination) over Him. For the death that He died, He died to sin once for all; but the life that He lives, He lives to God.”(Rom. 6: 9-10)

    WHEN thou didst go down into death, O life Immortal, then didst thou destroy hell with the radiance of thy divinity.

    Alleluia my Orthodox Brethren! Please allow me to share a bit in your worship.

  11. DebD Says:

    Indeed He is Risen!


Leave a Reply

