The One and the Many

I would not have thought Steven Curtis Chapman would be so well known that the terrible news of his daughter’s death would be mentioned on BBC Radio 2. Thus it was a double surprise when I heard it on the way to work this morning.

I don’t want to take away from my sympathy for the Chapman family nor fail to pray for the soul of little Maria Sue.

At the same time, I couldn’t help but think that there are so many other families who face the tragedy of the loss of a child. Because they are not celebrities, Christian or otherwise, they don’t have countless blogs eulogising with strings of commenters offering condolences and sympathy. They don’t have the prayers of millions.

I wonder how many families lost a child today. I’m glad they are known to God, even if they are unknown to me. May His mercy and grace, His peace and comfort surround them. May the souls of all those departed children find a place of peace and rest in the bosom of the Father.

2 Responses to “The One and the Many”

  1. Athanasia Says:

    Lord have mercy! This is tragic news. I cannot imagine how the son must feel.

    While listening to the radio today, the interviewees were Chinese nationals discussing the earthquake and tragic loss of so many children whose school buildings collapsed on them.

    Lord have mercy on all!

  2. Erin Says:

    I whole-heartedly agree.


Leave a Reply

