Wireless Monks

My patron saint (the predecessor of my name saint and to whom I feel a greater affinity) used to spend Lent each year on Caldey Island, which lies three miles off the Pembrokeshire coast. He ordained its second Abbot, St Samson, to the diaconate, priesthood, and episcopate. He probably never imagined that the monks of Caldey would support themselves by e-commerce.

Now the monks have wireless broadband.

Father Daniel, Abbot of Caldey Abbey, said: “Patience is one of the characteristics of monastic life, but even the patience of the brothers was being tested by our slow, dial-up internet service.”

Yes, even monks move along with the times.

4 Responses to “Wireless Monks”

  1. Athanasia Says:

    Or they see the temptation placed before them by big red, in the dial up…it leads to loss of patience, therefore one removes the temptation!

    Gotta love it!

  2. John of Indiana Says:

    Even a rustic Luddite like myself made the move from Dial-Up to Wireless this year.

    Now I can read MORE esoterica FASTER!

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    DD2 sent me an email about it this morning. It has made me want to go back there soon ……….

  4. sol Says:

    I saw just now that you had posted about it on your blog.
    I would like to go back there again as well.


Leave a Reply

