How to Treat a Lady

I don’t like to fly. So after three flights in 24 hours, I am visiting my parents. We couldn’t afford for the Unnamed family to travel as well, so I am here on my own.

On the way across the Atlantic, I sat next to a elderly British lady who had been in New Jersey on 9/11. She told me about how she had a difficult time getting back to the UK. Once she got a flight, she was sitting next to what appeared to be a Muslim man. After she described his gross-out eating habits, she described how he wanted to stretch out so he told her to go get another seat toward the back of the plane.

She told a stewardess that the man had told her to move. The stewardess told the man off, though he is not appear to be in any way ashamed of his behaviour. A few minutes later the stewardess came back and told the man she was moving the lady. The man said, “Thank you!” The stewardess replied, “I’m not moving her for your sake – I’m moving her for her sake.” She moved the lady to First Class.

4 Responses to “How to Treat a Lady”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    Sol,
    have a good time visiting your parents.

  2. Michael Says:

    Was that on a British flight? If so, that’s an example of the clear, succinct communication I associate with British verbal communication at its best.

  3. sol Says:

    I think she said it was British Airways.

  4. marguerite Says:

    It’s so nice to hear of a little bit of old-fashioned British commonsense and decency.


Leave a Reply

