Why I Pay Taxes

When I was in law school I became friends with a family that had 9 nine kids when I met them and stopped at 12. Until about the time the last two came along, the father was making in the low $20’s a year. They didn’t pay rent on their very old house, but then they did have to open it from 7:00 until midnight every Friday and Saturday and their living room had a stage and it was filled with little tables. It was the local Christian coffeehouse. Otherwise they lived on the father’s salary, because the mother homeschooled. They lived happy and healthy lives. They had plenty to eat, and usually plenty to share, as I often ate in their home. And they never took a single handout from the Government. They were certainly eligible. They’ve just never had a sense of entitlement.

That is who I thought of when I read the article in today’s Daily Mail about a couple with ten kids. The difference is that neither parent works. The mother never has and the father hasn’t for 15 years. They also live rent free in a semi-detached knocked into one fully detached, but not at the expense of strangers tromping through their downstairs every weekend. They also get £32,656 ($58,780) a year in taxpayer money to fund their lifestyle.

Harry Crompton can’t work because he’s got irritable bowel syndrome. Bloody hell. I have IBS and I’m making a lot less and I have to leave the house every morning. Of course his IBS might get better if the £250 a week they spend on food didn’t include so many crisps and bottles of fizzy drinks.

You’d think Tracey Crompton would be satisfied. But out of one side of her mouth she says, ‘We don’t have money worries. We don’t go without things and I think that’s because we are self-sufficient.” Self-sufficient? Self-bloody-sufficient? How do you leech more than my salary every year and have the audacity to call yourself “self-sufficient”?

Then there’s the other side of her mouth. ‘I’m not satisfied with the benefits we get  –  I want more.” While people with real jobs and real mortgages are feeling the pinch, she wants to suck more out of the system. She is happy to take more of their money and is actually glad the economy is in such turmoil. The prices of luxury goods are coming down to meet the ability of consumers to afford them. That means she can get an even bigger TV on which to watch Jeremy Kyle.

2 Responses to “Why I Pay Taxes”

  1. becky Says:

    Btw the story is lies!

  2. sol Says:

    Care to elucidate?


Leave a Reply

