Endless Research

I’ve been a bit scarce of late, but it’s not because I haven’t been writing. The creative juices have really started to flow with my novel and I have been spending every available moment doing research. I even have the tentative first couple pages drafted.

Do you know how difficult is it to find out the price of a train ticket from Nashville to Algood, Tennessee in 1912?

And what about the statutory interpretation of a 1881 Jim Crow law that railroad companies were “required to furnish separate cars for colored passengers who pay first-class rates”. If a white person and a black person were to both buy second-class tickets, could they then ride in the same car? And before you think that there wouldn’t be provision for black people to go first-class, the law was amended in 1882 so that railroads were “required to supply first-class passenger cars to all persons paying first-class rates.” It’s not the sort of thing a lot of people need to know.

And what was travel like in a day car? Photo archives that I’ve seen only show the inside of first-class carriages. I have a fight to stage and I need to know what I’m working with here.

4 Responses to “Endless Research”

  1. Athanasia Says:

    Wow! Okay, so the hook you sent out has grabbed this fish! when do you plan to publish?

  2. Elizabeth Says:

    This sounds fascinating !

  3. sol Says:

    Well, that’s just a bit of what’s in the first chapter, which I’m current writing. The main part of the story starts in the second chapter in about 1847 and then the story progresses up through 1864, with an epilogue in 1922. I know it may sound disjointed, but I think it will work.

    I plan to publish once I can get it written, while having full-time job, and can get an agent and publisher. I already have the sequel planned, if the first book is moderately successful. Well, it’s not so much a sequel as written on a concurrent timeline with characters and events that merge into the first book toward the end.

    Ah, what grand plans! Everybody wants to be a writer. . .

  4. Laura Says:

    Wow…I want to read this one!


Leave a Reply

